Additions

Home Forums Cabin Maintenance Additions

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 17 total)
  • Author
    Dogwood
    Participant

If it’s worth anything I recommend Justin Dollar. Starting with a GC is a good idea. Bid out your project and get many ideas before moving forward that way you don’t chamge plans in the process.

Bootstrap
    Participant

Your insurance company and lender, if any, will also want to make sure you have the proper permits… not just the County.. 😉
    …and you have to disclose any non-permitted construction when you go to sell your property, which could affect it’s value … 😉

• This reply was modified 9 years, 4 months ago by Bootstrap.
    Aleon
    Participant

Hello, My name is Allen Shaw. I am a local general contractor that does Design – AutoCad drafting – Construction all in house………I can provide a complete packet for the county permit and finish the project to any stage as required. I have just finished a project that is what your looking aat and would be glad to take you be and answer any questions you have, as well as provide you with a proposal for your own project. Thank you for your time…..Allen Shaw
    http://www.allenshawconstruction.com

PS. I live here in Dorrington and have been here for over 35 years.

cabin
    Participant

And decks built 3 years ago did not need an engineer to plan them. With our stable soil, piers, posts and joists, sizes and spans are all listed in charts which anyone can look up online and the building dept has all those same charts. The county building department helps generate income for engineers it seems to me. Oh well…

allen
    Participant

@caleach – Whatever you decide to do, all the county wants is permit money. And more permit money. Oh, did I mention permit money? It’s amazing how there are cabins in Dorrington built in the 1940s and 1950s that are still standing. No permits required back then.

caleach
    Participant